Ambassador’s Academy #9 (Part 4)

by
Yeah...

Yeah...

Ever have one of those nights where as soon as your head hits the pillow you’re out and the next thing you know the alarm is blaring?  Yet when you wake up you almost feel ready to go. That’s how it was. After a day that went by in minutes, and sleep that went by in seconds, it was time for another day of evangelism. This day would be Huntington Beach. This day, would be an interesting one.

SATURDAY
Huntington Beach

I rolled out of bed feeling like I had just enough rest to function. My throat hurt and my voice was very bad. Not good. I went downstairs to breakfast and determined to have a waffle. Being Saturday there were observably more people there than the previous days. So there was a line. I got my eggs, taters, and juice, but decided not to get back in line for the waffles. I didn’t want to be THAT GUY and cut in for a plate and make waffles. So I ate my round 1 and went back for waffles. Right behind the guy who was making 6. One for each member of his family. Finally, my turn at the waffle iron so I poured in the batter and waited. Thirty seconds later one of the hotel staff was wiping up the counter and refilling. She moved the waffle iron spilling about a quarter or the batter, wiped it up, and left. Sigh. The waffle turned out okay anyway and I was able to wolf it down just in time to run upstairs. We had a quick briefing and got ready to go.

Now, “Million Dollar” Bill had to be one of the most blessedly awesome drivers ever. The other guy, sad to say, not so much. he got lost… twice… with GPS. So, Chuck (he lives walking distance from where we were going to be at HB) moved up front and gave him directions.

We got there late. Duh. And went straight to work! It was a beautiful day and lots of people were there. Fishing was good.

After setting up I snuck off the the public restroom. Note to self: Bring Lysol and Clorox next trip. That was enough to make Todd Friel apoplectic. Anyway… Went to work! Handing out tracts was a little more difficult and 1-2-1 convos were as well… Perhaps it was because my body was getting a little beat down and my spirit getting worn out. I saw Tony Miano and asked for some support in doing 1-2-1. He walked with me down the pier giving me helpful advice and even engaging in a small group convo with some teenagers. He had a great springboard too!  A giant military cargo plane doing an exercise over the water! After the convo we started to walk back down the pier. I saw a couple signing to each other as the walked. I turned on my heal and go their attention. “You want a million dollars?” I asked. The man was shocked, the lady hadn’t noticed. “How?” he said. “I’m giving them away!” I reached into my pocket and pulled one out. “Ha, ha, ha! Cool! Thanks!” He then walked away to his companion who was giving him the “will you get a move on!” look. I turned around and saw Tony with his mouth open. I told him what just happened, my profession, etc. He then had an idea. One that was quite an honour and privilege…. He would ask Ray if I could interpret as he did his weekly Open Air. It was my turn to have my mouth open. I got the time and would make it a point to be back there.

I handed out lots of tracts that day. The celebrity millions went well. Then… something happened. I had heard plenty of insults and ridicule to myself and others over the past while. I saw next up in the celebrity millions was Ahhhh-nold. I handed it to a guy and said, “You get your state tax refund yet?” He looked at it, at me, and then with a look of utter contempt said, “You must be from out of state. You don’t understand THE culture.” He walked off. I confess that there were two words I wanted to say to him that would not be very Christian. Or even remotely civil.

Shortly after, Gail was up on the box and I was being a good rent-a-crowd. Leon Brown, from Evangelism Team, was near-by setting up his video camera to do some OA himself. A young guy walked by and screamed at my beloved Gail, “YOU’RE FULL OF ********!” Hit and run. I turned around spotted the fellow and screamed back, “You’re a coward!” No sooner had my mouth closed then Leon and lady mentor were scolding me. I deserved it. You don’t offend. I biffed it on a Biblical scale. In a few minutes Leon Brown went up to preach. He preached this…

PWND!!! All my base are belong to Him!

I did some praying as I was standing around and asked God to reveal what was going on. While this wasn’t a clear revelation from above I did realize that I was tired, spiritually worn, and the ol’ fuel level was getting close to E. I got a brother to go with me (we had to stay with someone at all times) to run across the street and get some pizza. I had just enough time to do so and eat quickly.

No sooner had I finished the pizza then it was time! I confessed to Ray that I was unsure of how to sign with a Kiwi accent, and it was away we went! Well… away HE went. I just tried to keep up. You can see the video below.

After that Scotty came up and then Brett. When finished I asked how long I had been going, felt like 20 or 30 mins. Closer to an hour as I found out. I was then treated to a delicious iced coffee beverage from Steve Sanchez. That gave me a nice kick in the pants to keep going!

Jenifer went up and preached and did so… well! The man she was preaching to was at Glendale the night before standing on a balcony out of sight. He had decided to go to Huntington Beach that day without any idea we would be there. When she got up on the box and began to preach (that’s my steady hand behind the camera) she drew a crowd and wound up pointing directly at him, randomly, and calling him forward for the Good Person Test. The video shows the rest.

As the day progressed I did a lot of handing out tracts as my voice kept fading and throat kept hurting. Joined some of our folk for some stoplight preaching. Handed out lots of tracts!

It was interesting… It seems that when one does Stoplight Preaching you have a captive audience. Well… I found out that is not exactly so. We saw people run out into traffic to avoid hearing us. Yes… moving traffic. Ironically, they side they ran to most often was the side with ANOTHER group of us doing some Stoplight Preaching.

It was time to go back and see Tony Miano demonstrate the power of an amphitheatre and how it can carry a voice.

I’ll let Tony Miano explain in his own words what happened.

From my perspective I was straining to hear, but despite the great distance, the loud noises, the hecklers, the detachment of Satan’s forces around us I could hear him. He preached the Law and the Gospel through tears and never in my days have I seen such a beautiful sight. I’ve seen sunsets at Zion and heard thunder roaring throughout the canyon. I’ve driven country roads out to Great Basin, been on an airplane in a lightning storm, seen stars uncountable in the night sky yet the sound of a man preaching as if he would never again preach, proclaiming the whole counsel of God despite what “THE culture” would have him do and weeping for the lost as he did so…. I do not say this to extol the virtues of some ex-cop turned crazy street preacher, I say this to magnify the Lord and what it is he commands us to do and gives us the strength to do.

We loaded on to the bus to go back to the hotel and have supper. I ate with a large group over at Chili’s and we were all still buzzing. We got back and we shared our stories, our testimonies… I’m reminded of a verse from the Gospel of John: “Now there are also many other things that Jesus did. Were every one of them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” Each one of us who where there could write volumes on the way the experience impacted our lives and those who came to repentance and faith could no doubt do likewise.

At the end of our time for sharing each group was called up and we were awarded a certificate and given a challenge coin, and a CD of EZ and Tony’s preaching from Thursday. Then the saddest words of the past several days were spoken. With a quake in his voice, Tony Miano said, “Ambassador’s Academy Number 9. You are dismissed.”

We remained there in fellowship for quite a while after. None of us really wanting this to be over, but all longing for home and our new mission. Yet, our new family will not be forgotten. If any of you are reading this, I love you all. DON’T QUIT!

PICTURE TIME!

Ray and I together! See! (HT: Tony Miano)

Ray and I together! See! (HT: Tony Miano)

Tony Miano doing what he does best.

Tony Miano doing what he does best.

Team 1

Team 1

Team 2

Team 2

Team 3

Team 3

 (No group pic of team 4…)

Team 5

Team 5

Team 6

Team 6

Team Leaders

Team Leaders

Jenifer doing what she does best. Make her complexion match her tie-die shirt!

Jenifer doing what she does best. Make her complexion match her tie-die shirt!

Mr. Officer. Miano, sir! and myself.

Mr. Officer. Miano, sir! and myself.

Giggles and I!

Giggles and I!

Behold, now is the favorable time; behold, now is the day of salvation.

Behold, now is the favorable time; behold, now is the day of salvation.

 VIDEO TIME!

 

Ambassador's Academy #9 is...............

Ambassador's Academy #9 is...............

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Ambassador’s Academy #9 (Part 4)”

  1. Richie Says:

    Nice bro…speechless.

Leave a Reply

