Ambassador’s Academy #9 (Part 2)

by
Yeah...

Yeah...

After that full day of classes we were pumped, but nervous. It was a blessing to hear that such fear never really goes away, it just gets used better. So how did we do day one?

FRIDAY
Living Waters HQ/Hollywood Blvd

Breakfast again. I was so nervous I got a big fat plate of food which I could only eat half of. After breakfast a bunch of nervous Christians went into the conference room to get briefed. Our day would begin with a tour of Living Waters HQ and a bit of OA and SP (Stoplight Preaching) practice. After that we would go Hollywood Blvd near the Kodak Theatre, Bus Stop, and Chinese Theatre. Then we would go to Glendale on Brand Blvd., have supper, do some more evangelism, and then back to the hotel.

Fox Mulder once said, “If coincidences are just coincidences why do they feel so contrived?” Well… That’s because God is sovereign over everything and puts everything into place. That is the case with the beloved brother “Million Dollar” Bill. He was our bus driver for the first day and a Christian. A real one. The kind who hands out gospel tracts, witnesses, etc. He even is a fan of Ray Comfort, WOTM, etc. And he’s the bus driver. What are the odds? (1:1 apparently.)

The bus ride over was smooth as silk and when we got to the Living Waters HQ we were treated to some power snacks (trail mix and, of course, bananas). We were also given sunscreen and water. The teams were broken up into three groups so that while one group was touring the others were practicing. First up was teams 1 and 2 for the tour. We did some practicing and started to feel not so freaked out standing six inches off the ground. Then… it was our turn! Teams 3 and 4 went in. The place was great! Ironically, the Living Waters HQ is a former mortuary. Indeed the outside had me thinking of the Haunted Mansion at There were things all over the walls: some funny, some touching. We saw the various offices and rooms. Ray was a hoot as showed us his office including coming out and telling us about the skeleton in his closet. It was so shocking I dare not speak more. We saw the CSR area and the infamous rubber band ball! I even had the chance to add to the legacy a few rubber bands. The packing area, the storage area, the studio… Oh! And the most important room at Living Waters HQ! The Ping Pong Room. Twas there we were treated with watching Ray and Tony play a little game. We then got back on the bus with a few extra passengers by the names of Ray and EZ! What a treat! It was off to Hollywood Blvd. Nervous? Yup!

When we got to Hollywood we went to our stations and got started right away. My first 1-2-1 was with a rapper selling his CDs for five bucks. The conversation went well and was very encouraging. I wasn’t told to scram nor was I shot at. We reasoned with each other and I kept making the point that salvation is not about works. It is about grace. I don’t know how much that got through, but when I saw him later in the day he said that the myriad of conversations he had were very beneficial. I got his card and am trying to stay in touch by e-mail.

Next thing I remember in regards to Hollywood Blvd was (cue dramatic score) THE BOX! I got behind the toolbox/step stool and was ready to step up. I bowed my head to quickly pray and then opened my eyes. I looked at the box. Time froze. I heard nothing around me but the voice of someone who I respect say to me after witnessing to someone, “You’re not going to do that to my kids.” and “You need to seriously pray and think about the way you do things.” and “You scared her away from Jesus.” Through the lies of the enemy then came these words I heard Tony preach the afternoon prior, “DON’T QUIT! If you quit someone dies!” I heard Ray, “Just ignore it and do it anyway!” My right foot (currently at a weight of 460 lbs.) moved up onto the box. My left leg lingered a bit. My brain sent signals but they went unheeded. “DON’T QUIT!” I had my brain send another demanding signal and the 4,600 lb left foot moved up onto the box. My head still bowed I saw the box below me. Next task, lift my head to look up. On a side note: I’m amazed at the weight gain that happens to certain body parts before beginning an OA. I managed to raise my head. I saw my team members around me, I saw strangers walking by. “LADIES AND GENTLEMEN….!” It was on.

I really don’t remember much of what I said up there, only that I was up there and words were coming out of my mouth and loud and my sore and hoarse throat could manage. I was being heckled by Eric the Athiest who was not there for debate and would not participate fiarly. I gave him a small chance and then did as the leader instructed. Ignore him. So I did. One lady happened by and we began interacting and I took her through the Good Person Test. “Have you ever looked at a man with lust?” I asked. “No!” she responded. “Really? Never!?” I poked lightly. “I’m a lesbian!” She proudly stated. “Okay! Ever look at a woman with lust?” I asked. “Yeah.” She said looking down. “Jesus said whoever looks with lust has commited adultery….” we continued. There were no screams of “HATER!” or any of that. I did my best to speak lovingly but loudly so people could hear. (I was later told by a leader that once I got to grace my voice got very quiet. Preach the Law loud, but preach Grace louder!) I explained the gospel, the sacrifice of Christ and it ended well. I shook her hand as she had to leave.

That was my first OA.

After that the groups rotated and our group was stoplight preaching. We were handing out tracts and annoying the guy from Star Tours who was trying to hand out his stuff. He kept prefacing what he had to say with those four words that are the worst to hear while out evangelizing. “I’m a Christian too…” But we kept on.

Once, while I was up there I was going though the law and the gospel and the light was half way through. Then I noticed two people signing. BINGO! I lifted my hands and began to sim-com. I looked dead at them hoping they would make eye contact and look up. Eventually they did. I had about ten seconds left so I reiterated the Law and Gospel in those ten seconds. Mark, team 4’s leader, told me that once I began to sign the crowd grew a bit quieter and began to pay more attention. (That’s foreshadowing children!)

My voice and throat were getting worse. I went out with a brother to go do some 1-2-1.

One person we came in contact with was Joe. My brother took him through the Law and the Gospel and we took turns speaking with him. He was mildly resistant, but was considering what we had to say from God’s word. We were walking away and striking up conversations with others. I offered to by a snazzy Porche for 1,000,000 dollars cash and the fellow laughed. He got a tract but was not interested in what we had to say.

It was then I realized, O! Wait! I need a small snack. So I got some chips and a Vitamin Water from a too expensive shop.  As I was walking out and back Joe came up to me. He’d been looking for me and had a question. “There’s this girl right. And she’s [had sex] with most of the guys I know. Now I didn’t [have sex] with her, but I did think about her… you know. So are you saying I’m the same as the guys who [had sex] with her?” Uh-oh. I responded, “It doesn’t matter what I say, it matters what the Bible says. In it Jesus said that if you look at a woman to lust you have committed adultery in your heart. What do you think?” He paused and nodded. “I’m not judging you Joe. I have no power to do that and the Bible says not to.” He then said in a quiet manner, “Yeah I know. Thank you.” He didn’t look offended or angry at me. I’m praying for him.

Another guy we had the chance to meet was a street performer. He was doing some dance moves, had his hat out by him and people were putting money in it. We were instructed to be… discerning… in our witnessing to street performers. They are there daily and have been hit by Ambassador’s Academy participants to no end. But this guy was fun to watch! So while walking by I slipped in a five wrapped around a million dollar bill tract. The guy stopped and said, “Whoa! Not so fast! THANK YOU!” I laughed and said, “It’s just a five. Also, I put in a gospel tract….” Our conversation began. He claimed to be Christian and our conversation left me feeling okay about that. He asked for prayer. Street performing is his full-time job and he loved it, but times are tough. I told Fredrick Key Robinson he would have my prayers.

Our next station at Hollywood Blvd was by the Chinese Theater. I did a bit more OA there, but my voice was going quick. Mostly handed out tracts and played rent-a-crowd to whoever was on the box. Nothing much exciting there.

After that we all headed back to the bus for the drive to Glendale in Friday LA 5 o’clock traffic.

Well… I’m going to cut off story time here and extend this little two part blog to a three part blog (maybe four…)

HSAT… PICTURE TIME!

Only ate about half of that I was so nervous.

Only ate about half of that I was so nervous.

Living Waters HQ!

Living Waters HQ!

Another shot of 9818 Arkansas

Another shot of 9818 Arkansas

Team Leader Mark with the WHAT IF? sign.

Team Leader Mark with the WHAT IF? sign.

Shockingly, some folk aren't fans of Mr. Comfort.

Shockingly, some folk aren't fans of Mr. Comfort.

Holly Hunter and John Travolta's autographed Million Dollar Bill.

Holly Hunter and John Travolta's autographed Million Dollar Bill.

From drunken, stoned, gangbanger to child of God.

From drunken, stoned, gangbanger to child of God.

So that's where tracts come from...

So that's where tracts come from...

THE most important room at Living Waters.

THE most important room at Living Waters.

That's WAY better than Phantom Menace!

That's WAY better than Phantom Menace!

Who won? Well... I'll leave that an Academy Secret.

Who won? Well... I'll leave that an Academy Secret.

The "Pusher" with some words of advice before we go hard.

The "Pusher" with some words of advice before we go hard.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

