Bible Study Notes (1-18-09)

by

As we study Psalms we are taking turns leading. This week’s was led by A.N. Here are her unedited notes.
+++
Psalm 28

The LORD Is My Strength and My Shield

1To you, O LORD, I call;
(A) my rock, be not deaf to me,
lest, if you(B) be silent to me,
I become like those who(C) go down to the pit.

18:2The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,

my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,
my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. (CR)

35:22(A) You have seen, O LORD;(B) be not silent!

O Lord,(C) be not far from me! (CF)

39:12(A) “Hear my prayer, O LORD,

and give ear to my cry;
hold not your peace at my tears!
For I am(B) a sojourner with you,
a guest, like all my fathers. (CF)

83:1O God, do not keep silence;
(B) do not hold your peace or be still, O God! (CF)

88:4I am counted among those who(A) go down to the pit;

I am a man who has no strength, (CF)

143: 7(A) Answer me quickly, O LORD!

(B) My spirit fails!
(C) Hide not your face from me,
(D) lest I be like those who go down to the pit. (CF)

2(D) Hear the voice of my pleas for mercy,

when I cry to you for help,
when I(E) lift up my hands
(F) toward your most holy sanctuary.[a]

PS 140: 6(A) I say to the LORD, You are my God;

give ear to(B) the voice of my pleas for mercy, O LORD!

1 Kings 6:16 He built twenty cubits of the rear of the house with boards of cedar from the floor to the walls, and he built this within as an inner sanctuary, as the Most Holy Place.

Yeah yeah.. I’ll give you a minute to giggle over the irony of the first verse…

OK, so now that’s out of the way.. The background to these two passages is that they are said by David in a time of real need, an emergency. So what is the common theme amongst these passages? The worst thing to happen to us would be that we cannot hear the Lord. He is our protector, our refuge from the world. If we cannot hear him anymore because of our sin and not talking to Him or listening to Him, if he is silent to our request, our call, our prayer… we become like those who are going to Hell-it is like we are condemned ourselves, or that we are like those who are facing judgement. In fact, maybe we are. We don’t want to be treated the same way as those who are unsaved-we don’t want Him to see us with those eyes. He should be the first we ask in terms of guidance, and His word should be the first we turn to. If we don’t have an answer to a prayer, we need to keep praying or turn to His word. The KJV of this verse- says “1Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock”.

A cry can mean that we are sorrowful, that we are desperate. A call (as in the ESV) seems to be more of an entreaty. When we call out, we call out to HIM, and HIM only. We are increasingly urgent in our calls if He is silent.. He is our rock.. a shelter, a refuge for believers. He is also solid and not easily moved-so he represents security and a foundation, but in my perspective, it’s also a warning to ‘the world’. He will not leave His own. We are never without Him.

We want Him to hear us, to pay attention to us in our time of need… When we lift up our hands towards Him, we are asking Him, crying out to Him, so in this way, the second verse echoes the first verse of Ps 28.. Psalms is written like a song of worship, so you do see some repetitition. It does seem to be written in a way that would sound “pretty”. I’ll leave more comments for others. I was kind of confused by the cross-reference to 1-Kings, for I read the “most holy sanctuary” –when we call out to Him, we LIFT OUR HANDS, which implies that the most holy sanctuary is where He is-UP ABOVE. Thoughts?

3Do not(G) drag me off with the wicked,
with the workers of evil,
(H) who speak peace with their neighbors
while evil is in their hearts.

Ps 26: 9(A) Do not sweep my soul away with sinners,
nor my life with bloodthirsty men,

Ez 32: 20 They shall fall amid those(A) who are slain by the sword. Egypt[a] is delivered to the sword; drag her away, and(B) all her multitudes.

Jeremiah 9: 8(A) Their tongue is a deadly arrow;
(B) it speaks deceitfully;
with his mouth(C) each speaks peace to his neighbor,
but in his heart(D) he plans an ambush for him.

Psalm 5:9 9For there is no truth in their mouth;
their inmost self is(A) destruction;
(B) their throat is(C) an open grave;

Psalm 12:.2 Everyone(A) utters lies to his neighbor;
with(B) flattering lips and(C) a double heart they speak.

Psalm 55: 21His(A) speech was(B) smooth as butter,
yet war was in his heart;
his words were softer than oil,
yet they were(C) drawn swords.

Basically, this verse says it is a sin to gossip, and to backstab, or it is so the way I read it. If you do not like a person or you have a problem with them, but you say nothing to them and think you are “playing nice” and then you turn around and say something ugly about them to someone else.. this verse speaks to you. This verse is a warning to us not to associate with those who are “of the world” or those who are “wicked”, for they will influence us. “Workers of evil” say what they do not mean-they are pretenders.

4(I) Give to them according to their work
and according to the evil of their deeds;
give to them according to the work of their hands;
(J) render them their due reward.

Jeremiah 50:15(A) Raise a shout against her all around;
she has surrendered;
her bulwarks have fallen;
(B) her walls are thrown down.
For(C) this is the vengeance of the LORD:
take vengeance on her;
(D) do to her as she has done.

Revelation 18: 6(A) Pay her back as she herself has paid back others,
and repay her(B) double for her deeds;
mix a double portion for her(C) in the cup she mixed.

2 Timothy 4: 14(A) Alexander the coppersmith did me great harm;(B) the Lord will repay him according to his deeds.

Psalm 137:8 O daughter of Babylon,(A) doomed to be destroyed,
blessed shall he be who(B) repays you
with what you have done to us!

Simply.. this is a reminder that the Lord will punish those who wrong Him, and they will face judgement. We are not to exact punishment ourselves, and we are not to seek vengeance. God will punish our thoughts as well as our actions.

5Because they(K) do not regard the works of the LORD
or the work of his hands,
he will tear them down and build them up no more.

IS 5:12(A) They have lyre and harp,
tambourine and flute and wine at their feasts,
(B) but they do not regard the deeds of the LORD,
or see the work of his hands.

JOB 34: 27because they turned aside from(A) following him
and had no regard for any of his ways,

This is related to Verse 3 and 4. Those who think evil thoughts, have evil actions, ignore Him, fail to praise Him or otherwise don’t show that they love Him will be destroyed by Him. This is also related to Verse 1… If we don’t obey Him, He will not help us grow in Him.. How can He, if we cannot hear Him? The more evil that is shown in our thoughts, our actions, our words, the more he becomes silent to US so that we cannot hear him so we are like those in Hell. We won’t be able to become closer to Him or serve Him well.

6Blessed be the LORD!
For he has(L) heard the voice of my pleas for mercy.

42: 2(A) My soul thirsts for God,
for(B) the living God.
When shall I come and(C) appear before God?[a]

This is when this Psalm turns from prayer to praise. He hears us cry, plead, call out for mercy. When our prayers are answered, we should praise Him, and praise Him often-give thanks for what we have been blessed by, for Him hearing us.

7The LORD is my strength and(M) my shield;

in him my heart(N) trusts, and I am helped;
my heart exults,
and with my(O) song I give thanks to him.

PS 3: 3But you, O LORD, are(A) a shield(B) about me,
The LORD Is in His Holy Temple

To the choirmaster. Of David.

PS 11: 1In the LORD I take refuge;how can you say to my soul,
(A) “Flee like a bird to your mountain,my glory, and(C) the lifter of my head. (CR)

PS 69: 30I will(A) praise the name of God with a song;
I will(B) magnify him with(C) thanksgiving.

This is pretty self-explanatory. Our trust in Him helps us every day. The stronger our faith, the more we feel his power and the more we feel safe with Him protecting us. We are weak and falliable as humans, and He is strong for us. When our trust in Him and our relationship in Him are strong, we are happy. This kind of brings home the point of worship, of songs of praise within worship within a church service. I have a question for you here.. If worship/songs/music were cut from the service and we would only have a sermon, what difference would that make for you?

8The LORD is the strength of his people;[b]
he is(P) the saving refuge of his anointed.

PS 140:7O LORD, my Lord,(A) the strength of my salvation,
you have covered my head in the day of battle. (CR)

PS 20 :6Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed;
he will answer him from his holy heaven
with(A) the saving might of his right hand. (CR)

9Oh, save your people and bless(Q) your heritage!

(R) Be their shepherd and(S) carry them forever.

Deu 32: 9But the LORD’s portion is his people,

Jacob his allotted heritage.

PS78:72With(A) upright heart he shepherded them

and(B) guided them with his skillful hand.

Is 40:11(A) He will tend his flock like a shepherd;
(B) he will gather the lambs in his arms;
(C) he will carry them in his bosom,
and gently lead those that are with young.

IS 63: 9(A) In all their affliction he was afflicted,[a]
and the angel of his presence saved them;
(B) in his love and in his pity he redeemed them;
(C) he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.

God is our strength, our salvation for those who are believers. This again says he will protect us. He is our leader (shepherd) and will protect us. So we should “save our people and bless our heritage”. So we should pray not only for ourselves, but for “our people”.. what does that mean?

For me, it means other believers. What is our heritage? Not only other believers, but friends, family.. Give thanks for those who are saved, pray for their future.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

