Yumm… Tofurkey

by

Turkey (or Tofurkey in my case), mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, green bean casserole, cranberry sauce shaped like a can…. All these things are great to be thankful for, but… Isn’t there more? YES! Christian, are you thankful for your salvation? We should be daily. I dare say none of us are as thankful as we should be. John Samson wrote: “When we commit a sin, at that moment our desire to sin is greater than our desire to obey Christ. I think that is the most haunting thing about the sins I commit. That at that particular moment when I sinned, the sin was more appealing to me than obeying my Lord.” What did the Lord Himself say? “If you love me you will keep my commandments.” (John 14:15) Uh…. Er… (cough, cough).  I shall be the first to admit, I blow that hourly if not more often. As I stressed in my last post even after our sinfulness He stillis there interceding for us! If that doesn’t have your mind sufficiently blown, check your pulse. Imagine if you gave your friend a very expensive gift. Let’s say… a 45-inch HD plasma TV.  You had been saving the entire year to be able to pay for it. Then two days after giving it to your friend he says, “Hey! I taped my bulls-eye to it and it broke when I shot my BB gun at it in target practice.” Again, I say, if you aren’t apopleptic at that, check your pulse! That’s kind of what we do to God when we sin as Christians, only worse on a scale that is beyond mathematics.  My point, and I do have one, is that we should first and foremost be thankful for our salvation and the fact that Jesus Christ Himself ensures we will not suffer God’s just wrath. With that in mind, enjoy (if that is the word) this prayer from Valley of Vision:

PRAISE AND THANKSGIVING

O MY GOD,
Thou fairest, greatest, and first of all objects.
    my heart admires, adores, loves thee,
    for my little vessel is as full as it can be,
    and I would pour out all that fullness before thee
                            in ceaseless flow.
When I think upon and converse with thee
   ten thousand delightful thoughts spring up,
   ten thousand sources of pleasure are unsealed,
   ten thousand refreshing joys spread over my heart,
   crowding into every moment of happiness.
I bless thee for the soul thou hast created,
                   for adorning it and sanctifying it,
                       though it is fixed in barren soil;
                   for the body thou hast given me,
                   for preserving its strength and vigour,
                   for providing senses to enjoy delights
                   for the ease and freedom of my limbs,
                   for hands, eyes, ears that do thy bidding;
                   for thy royal bounty providing my daily support,
                   for a full table and overflowing cup,
                   for appetite, taste, sweetness,
                   for social joys of relatives and friends,
                   for ability to serve others,
                   for a heart that feels sorrows and necessities,
                   for a mind to care for my fellow-men,
                   for opportunities of spreading happiness around,
                   for loved ones in the joys of heaven,
                   for my own expectation of seeing thee clearly.
I love thee above the powers of language to express,
    for what thou art to thy creatures.

Increase my love, O my God, through time and eternity.
AMEN!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

