Obama’s Point is Clear…

by

But by clear I mean opaque….

REAL QUOTE:
[An abortion protester at a campaign event] handed me a pamphlet. “Mr.
Obama, I know you’re a Christian, with a family of your own. So how
can you support murdering babies?”

I told him I understood his position but had to disagree with it. I
explained my belief that few women made the decision to terminate a
pregnancy casually; that any pregnant woman felt the full force of the
moral issues involved when making that decision; that I feared a ban
on abortion would force women to seek unsafe abortions, as they had
once done in this country. I suggested that perhaps we could agree on
ways to reduce the number of women who felt the need to have abortions
in the first place.

“I will pray for you,” the protester said. “I pray that you have a
change of heart.” Neither my mind nor my heart changed that day, nor
did they in the days to come. But that night, before I went to bed, I
said a prayer of my own-that I might extend the same presumption of
good faith to others that had been extended to me.

Source: The Audacity of Hope, by Barack Obama, p.197-8 Oct 1, 2006

DOES THIS MAKE SENSE TEST QUOTE:
[A slavery protester at a campaign event] handed me a pamphlet. “Mr.
Obama, I know you’re a Christian, with a family of your own. So how
can you support slavery?”

I told him I understood his position but had to disagree with it. I
explained my belief that few men made the decision to own a slave
casually; that any potential slave owner felt the full force of the
moral issues involved when making that decision; that I feared a ban
on slavery would force men to seek unsafe slavery, as they had once
done in this country. I suggested that perhaps we could agree on ways
to reduce the number of men who felt the need to have slaves in the
first place.

“I will pray for you,” the protester said. “I pray that you have a
change of heart.” Neither my mind nor my heart changed that day, nor
did they in the days to come. But that night, before I went to bed, I
said a prayer of my own-that I might extend the same presumption of
good faith to others that had been extended to me.

NOPE!!! Not a drop of any sense in that argument!!!

[HT: The Lawman Chronicles (for the excerpt), Way of the Master Radio (for the idea)]

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

